training in progress

This first week of training for the Santa Scamper one mile race went well. I’ve not only met, but surpassed my goals for the week. I  completed two workouts and ran my easy days for a total of 20 miles this week. My goal was 18.5 miles but I changed my weekend running plan a little bit by running 5 miles and strides with M yesterday and 4.5 today. The weather was great yesterday and I was feeling good so I added a couple miles. I thought I might as well since I was feeling good and having fun running with M.

 It’s nice to be able to say I’ve done two workouts this week, although they weren’t very hard workouts. I wasn’t sure what kind of shape I would be in after the half marathon – I took two weeks off after the race and haven’t really ran many miles since then. But on Tuesday I ran a 3-2-1 Fartlek workout that went very well. I think I actually ran it a little too fast because I was huffing and puffing by the end and I was definitely running faster than mile pace, which was my goal pace to hit by the end of the workout. It was fun to run fast again. That workout covered about 3.5 miles, including the warm-up and cool down. I ran 3 easy miles on Wednesday after work. Then I did a tempo run workout on Friday with a one mile warm-up and cooldown and 2 miles at 9:00 pace. I actually ran a tiny bit faster and finished up 2 miles in 17:45 and felt really good. My training plan for this week was probably a little too easy so M might adjust the upcoming weeks to push me a little more. I also might add abs 4 days a week.

Over all I am very pleased with how this first week of training went. I’m optimistic that the Santa Scamper will be a PR. I will use this positive energy to keep my training on the right track next week!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

