week 2 wrap-up

Week 2 of Santa scamper training didn’t go as well as week 1. I changed a few things around in my training by running 4 easy miles on Tuesday, thinking that I could just switch my Tuesday and Wednesday runs (I really hate running on the days that I work in Green Bay because it’s late by the time I get home), but I was totally wiped out on Wednesday and didn’t feel like I could muster the energy to run…so I didn’t. Luckily I ran that extra mile on Tuesday! On Friday I went to the local middle school’s track to run my first track workout. I ran 4x 400m intervals at 1:41-1:44 pace with a 400m jog rest in between. It was a tough workout. I’m not really used to running short, fast distances, especially when I’m aiming for a certain time. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I ended up doing my 4 intervals in 1:45, 1:40, 1:39 and 1:40. So, overall they were on target. I tacked on an extra half mile in the warm-up and cool-down to bring my daily total to 5 miles. On Saturday I ran 4 easy miles. I added an extra mile on Friday and Saturday to make up for the missed day on Wednesday.

On Saturday night I went to a Halloween party at a friend’s house. I went as Lady Gaga in the meat dress…but I didn’t use real meat! I bought a red dress from Goodwill and then my mom and I sewed on pieces of gauze that was dyed red. I bought a blonde wig from the halloween store and colored the tips blue with a sharpie and tied pieces of fabric onto my shoes and on my head as a hat. It looked great! I will post a pic when I get them on my computer. M dressed up as Greece – he wore a torn up toga, olive leaves around his head and made a cardboard sign that said “help a debt-laden European economy”. He even had a tin can to collect spare change. It was pretty funny! We had a great time seeing old friends.

After a fun night celebrating with friends I didn’t feel much like running a long-run on Sunday. I will have to do better this week, but I’m already off to a good start. I was supposed to have the day off of running on Monday but I decided to come home and squeeze in 3 miles to make up for the bad week of training last week.  M is revamping my training plan so I’m not sure what I will be running today. I will update my blog with the latest plan when I find out!

Happy first day of November!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

