Pizza pizza!

Summer is flying by! I can’t believe the 4th of July is next week already. I’ve been so busy at work that I’ve hardly realized a third of the summer has passed by. The weather has been so cold and rainy lately that it doesn’t even feel like summer weather either. It felt like a long spring. Luckily all the fun things I have planned to do this summer are still to come! Here are a few of the fun things I plan to do:

  • go to M’s parent’s cabin for the 4th of July weekend
  • go camping in Door county with my family
  • Art in the Park 2011
  • a girls trip to Door county with my mom and sisters
  • a trip with M to Eugene, Oregon to visit friends

I can’t wait to do everything! This weekend was my sister’s graduation party. We had a wonderful time celebrating her graduation from high school with family and friends. My aunt is a fantastic cook and catered the whole party. She made a delicious chicken marsala, marinara with meatballs, caprese salad, lettuce salad, garlic bread, fruit salad and more. My sister baked a wonderful graduation cap cake. It was a two tiered red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting and a chocolate graduation cap on top! She is such a talented cake decorator. I predict that she will be a famous cake designer someday. The whole party was a blast. The food was delicious, the weather was perfect and the atmosphere was relaxed. A perfect graduation party!

Last week I only logged 15 miles over the course of three 5 mile runs. This week I plan to do a little better. I’m actually up to 13.5 miles so far. Yesterday I ran 5 miles and today I went for a 3 miler around my parents’ house. After the run, my mom and I took a walk around the library in the city. Yesterday M and I ran 5.5 miles around our neighborhood. It was such a beautiful day! I hope the weather holds out for this weekend because M and I plan to be outside a lot this weekend at the cabin. We want to go on some long runs out in the country!

Tuesday night for dinner we made a homemade pizza. I bought a pre-made thin crust at the grocery store, added a little olive oil and pizza sauce and topped it with mozzarella cheese, red and green peppers, sliced tomatoes and pieces of bacon! I spiced it up with a little basil, garlic powder, ground pepper and red pepper flakes. It was awesome! The combination of flavors really works well and I’m starting to really enjoy a little spice with the red pepper flakes.

Last night we ate with my sister and her boyfriend. We had so much food leftover from the graduation party that we have been eating the leftover pasta, garlic bread, fruit and salads. It is still delicious even a few days after!

Alright, I’m getting packed and ready to head up to the cabin for the weekend. It’s going to be quite an extended weekend – 5 nights! I will give a good report when I get back! Have a wonderful 4th of July holiday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment