Exploring a new trail

Good news! I’ve been offered a full-time position at the nursing home. I will still be on day shift, but on a different unit. It will be more work, but I’m happy to have a full-time position. That will help paying back those good old student loans! haha But full-time job means less time for running and painting. I will just have to get better at juggling my time.

So far this week I’m up to 11 miles. I had an intense weight lifting session with M on Tuesday night. I ran one mile to warm up then I hit the weights. I’m still in the beginner stage of weight lifting so I’m never really sure how much I can lift. I think I squatted a little too much weight and as a result, my quads were sore for a few days after. I stupidly ran three miles on Wednesday after work, but my legs were dead. I decided not to attempt running again on Thursday so I took a rest day. Today I ran 4 easy miles in a new route. It wasn’t really a set route, more like I was exploring my neighborhood and ran for 40 miles. I figure that was at least 4 miles, maybe even a little more. I discovered a new trail right by my house. It’s not a big trail, in fact, its just a walking trail on the grounds of a large nursing home facility. There’s no more than a half mile of trail running throughout the property, but it’s completely wooded and nice for running in a more secluded area. And it’s so close to my apartment.

I plan to do a 6 mile long run this weekend. I hope to do it tomorrow morning because there’s a heat advisory for this area this weekend. It’s no fun running in high temperatures, so it will be best to get that out of the way as soon as possible. If I do get my long run in tomorrow, I will shoot for running another 3 on Sunday, but we’ll see how the weather is. If I can’t get out and run it will just leave me more time to paint!

I got another two small paintings finished and I’m in the process of finishing up a larger painting. I want to have as much of a selection at Art in the Park so I’m really kicking it into high gear. Getting my new position has taken away several painting days in the upcoming two weeks so I have to plan very carefully. There’s a lot more work I have to do to make sure everything is set for Art in the Park.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment